HomeCrash reportsMichiganDetroit Police Department
How to get a crash report from the Detroit Police Department
The Detroit Police Department sells crash reports through LexisNexis (policereports.lexisnexis.com) at policereports.lexisnexis.com. In person: $10.00 cash or money order (exact amount, no change provided). Online: "additional fees may apply" (amount not stated by the City).
From the Detroit Police Department's own pages, checked October 2, 2026
Requesting the report
| Covers | crashes inside Detroit city limits worked by DPD (freeway crashes are typically Michigan State Police) |
|---|---|
| Request online | policereports.lexisnexis.com |
| Cost | In person: $10.00 cash or money order (exact amount, no change provided). Online: "additional fees may apply" (amount not stated by the City). |
| What you need | In person you must have the exact date of the accident, the cross streets where it happened, and a valid ID. |
| In person | DPD Third Precinct, 2875 W. Grand Blvd, Detroit, MI 48202, (313) 596-1909. Police reports moved here from 4700 W. Fort Street; the page says "Our hours of operation and contact numbers are the same" but does not print hours. |
| Phone | (313) 596-1909 (Third Precinct); Detroit Police Department Public Info (313) 596-2200 on the city's Accident Report page |
Michigan crash reports (UD-10) are also sold online through the Michigan State Police TCPS system: https://www.michigan.gov/msp/divisions/cjic/traffic-crash-reporting-unit (MSP says it can take 3 - 30 days after the crash for the report to be processed and made available online for purchase).
Need a different police report (theft, incident)? Crime reports are also picked up at the Third Precinct: need the 10 digit report number or complaint number (or valid ID), $10.00 cash or money order; third parties need written consent and the owner's ID copy..
Fatal crashes in Detroit
699 people died in 650 crashes in Detroit from 2020 through 2024 (NHTSA FARS), more of them on I-96 than on any other road. In 2024, 105 were killed, 45% fewer than in 2020.
After you have the report
-
Get the crash report
Statewide copies come from Michigan State Police (MSP) Traffic Crash Reporting Unit, through the Traffic Crash Purchasing System (TCPS, MiLogin account required), cost $15.00 per report and are usually ready Typical processing is 3-30 days from the crash, depending on the reporting agency (no mandatory timeframe). Reports can be bought for up to 10 years after the crash..
-
Know your deadline
Michigan gives you three years to file a personal injury lawsuit (Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5805(2)). If a city, county or state vehicle was involved: To recover for injuries from a defective highway you must serve written notice on the governmental agency within 120 days of the injury (filed with the Court of Claims for state roads); the notice must state the exact location and nature of the defect, the injury, and known witnesses.
-
Who pays
Michigan is a no-fault state: your own personal injury protection (PIP) pays first, with at least Choice of PIP medical coverage levels for policies issued or renewed after July 1, 2020: unlimited, $500,000, $250,000, or $50,000 (Medicaid enrollees only); other options and exceptions (MCL 500.3107d, 3109a) were not read required, and you can sue the other driver only past the state's threshold. Give your auto insurer written notice of the injury within 1 year of the crash, or you can lose the right to sue for PIP benefits (and benefits more than 1 year before you file are not recoverable).
-
If you were partly at fault
If you were partly at fault, your damages are reduced by your percentage of fault, and in a crash case you cannot recover noneconomic damages (pain and suffering) if you are more than 50% at fault; under MCL 600.2959 economic damages are still reduced rather than barred.
-
The other driver’s minimum coverage
The legal minimum liability coverage in Michigan is $50,000 per injured person, $100,000 per crash and $10,000 for property (50/100/10).
Check your deadline and a rough claim range
A filing date and a rough value range for Michigan. Both take under a minute.
Questions
How much is a crash report from the Detroit Police Department?
In person: $10.00 cash or money order (exact amount, no change provided). Online: "additional fees may apply" (amount not stated by the City).
Can I get my Detroit crash report online?
Yes, at policereports.lexisnexis.com. You need: In person you must have the exact date of the accident, the cross streets where it happened, and a valid ID.
Sources
- Detroit Police Department crash reports: detroitmi.gov/departments/police-department/detroit-police-department-records-an
City of Detroit, Police Records and Reports: "The services normally offered at 4700 W. Fort Street, Detroit MI 48209 (police reports, gun permits, police clearances, and fingerprinting) have been moved to the 3rd precinct (2875 W. Grand Blvd, Detroit MI 48202)." "The following reports can be obtained in person at the DPD Third Precinct: Crash Report. You must have the exact date of the accident. The cross streets where the accident happened. Valid ID. Cost of the Accident Report is $10.00 cash or money order (exact amount, no change provided). Purchase Crash Report Online" "Purchase crash repo…
- Request portal: policereports.lexisnexis.com/ (City of Detroit 'Purchase Crash Report Online' li
- Other police reports: detroitmi.gov/departments/police-department/detroit-police-department-records-an
Read October 2, 2026. Laws and fees change; the linked page is the authority.