HomeCrash reportsIndianaIndianapolis Metropolitan Police Department
How to get a crash report from the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department
The Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department sells crash reports through BuyCrash at buycrash.com. Cost: $12 for an accident report at the IMPD records office; the online BuyCrash fee is not stated on the IMPD page.
From the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department's own pages, checked October 2, 2026
Requesting the report
| Covers | crashes worked by IMPD officers (the page says 'an accident report made by an IMPD officer') |
|---|---|
| Request online | buycrash.com |
| Cost | $12 for an accident report at the IMPD records office; the online BuyCrash fee is not stated on the IMPD page |
| What you need | The date, time and location of the accident and, if possible, the investigating officer's name. |
| In person | 50 N. Alabama St., E100, Indianapolis, IN 46204. The office is open 8 a.m.-4 p.m. (M-F). |
| Phone | 317.327.3155 |
Need a different police report (theft, incident)? Incident reports: in person at Room E100 of the City-County Building, 50 N. Alabama St., or by mail with a self-addressed stamped envelope; paper copies cost $5 per report..
Fatal crashes in Marion County
698 people died in 665 crashes in Marion County from 2020 through 2024 (NHTSA FARS), more of them on I-465 than on any other road. In 2024, 128 were killed, 12% fewer than in 2020.
After you have the report
-
Get the crash report
-
Know your deadline
Indiana gives you two years to file a personal injury lawsuit (Ind. Code § 34-11-2-4(a)). If a city, county or state vehicle was involved: A claim against a city, county or other political subdivision is barred unless written notice is filed with its governing body (and the risk management commission, if applicable) within 180 days after the loss; claims against the State have a separate 270-day notice rule (not fetched).
-
Who pays
Indiana is an at-fault state: the driver who caused the crash, through their liability insurance, pays for the injuries and damage.
-
If you were partly at fault
If you were partly at fault, your damages are reduced by your percentage of fault, but you recover nothing if your fault is greater than the fault of everyone else who contributed to your damages (more than 50%).
-
The other driver’s minimum coverage
The legal minimum liability coverage in Indiana is $25,000 per injured person, $50,000 per crash and $25,000 for property (25/50/25).
Check your deadline and a rough claim range
A filing date and a rough value range for Indiana. Both take under a minute.
Questions
How much is a crash report from the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department?
$12 for an accident report at the IMPD records office; the online BuyCrash fee is not stated on the IMPD page.
Can I get my Indianapolis crash report online?
Yes, at buycrash.com. You need: The date, time and location of the accident and, if possible, the investigating officer's name.
Sources
- Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department crash reports: www.indy.gov/activity/request-an-accident-report
indy.gov 'Request an Accident Report': "You can find accident reports online at BuyCrash.com. To request a copy of an accident report made by an IMPD officer, you can also visit the address below. The office is open 8 a.m.-4 p.m. (M-F). An accident report costs $12. 50 N. Alabama St., E100 Indianapolis, IN 46204 317.327.3155 You must provide the date, time, and location of the accident, and if possible, the investigating officer's name."
- Request portal: www.buycrash.com/Public/Home.aspx (BuyCrash.com, as linked on indy.gov)
- Other police reports: www.indy.gov/activity/request-an-incident-report
Read October 2, 2026. Laws and fees change; the linked page is the authority.